Bing Ads Automated Rules — training
Automated rules are one of several ways that Bing Ads helps to make managing your advertising campaigns as simple and efficient as possible.
By the end of this article, you will learn:
- what automated rules are, and how they benefit advertisers of all sizes
- how to create your first automated rule
- common examples of automated rules, and how they apply to your business
- tips for using automated rules
How automated rules work
Many of the most common bidding, budgeting and campaign planning tasks that advertisers big and small perform regularly align well with Bing Ads’ Automated rules. The ability to schedule and automate these top campaign management operations on a weekly, or even daily, basis can amount to invaluable time savings and efficiency gains.
Imagine you were running a campaign which has a strict budget that fluctuates month to month. The chances are you don’t want to be staring at your watch at 11.58 p.m. waiting to change budgets at the end of every month. Automated rules provide a perfect opportunity to schedule changes like this to your account ahead of time, based on either account performance, budgets or even your own customised promotion dates.
Examples of common automated rules
Although your campaign will always require some monitoring, there are many tasks that you can have Bing Ads do for you automatically. Here are a few examples of how advertisers are using automated rules to help them manage their campaigns:
- Start and stop your campaigns for special events, such as a Black Friday or Boxing Day sales.
- Avoid letting a maxed-out budget stop your best-performing campaigns.
- Keep your ads on the first page.
- Avoid costs on poor performing keywords or ads.
Read more about Ways to use automated rules and how to create them.
How to create an automated rule
You can create automated rules in just a few steps:
- Click Campaigns at the top of the page, then click the Campaigns tab.
- Above the summary table, click the drop-down menu labelled Automate.
- Select what you want to happen (for example, Pause campaigns when).
- Optional: Specify the circumstances that you want to trigger your action (for example, campaigns where spend is greater than £500 and no conversions have been recorded). You can also add additional triggers as needed.
- Specify how often you want the rule to run.
- Choose if you want an email sent to you when the rule is run.
- Optional: If you want to see a preview of what would happen if the rule runs immediately, click Preview.
For example, if you create a rule to increase your budget based on CTR automatically, you can use this preview to see which budgets would change and by how much.
- Click Save.
Please note that you can also set up automated rules on the Ad groups, Ads and Keywords tabs.
Learn more and watch our video on how to Automate your Bing Ads campaigns.
Tips when using automated rules
Use maximum and minimum CPC limitsWhen creating automated rules, ensure that you have a good idea of what changes will be made to your selected keywords, campaigns or ad groups. Imagine you had an automated rule which increased bids on keywords with a click-through rate higher than 2.5 per cent. Every time that a keyword’s bid is increased, the keyword will have a higher likelihood of appearing higher on the Bing Ads search results page, which in turn could also increase your click-through rates, causing an endless spiral which could possibly have a negative impact on your campaigns’ performance.
Unless you’re monitoring your automated rules regularly and are confident in the criteria that you’ve set, make sure that you set minimum and maximum CPC thresholds to help manage costs and avoid unexpected increases to ad spend.
Be careful of overlapping rulesImagine you had two automated rules, one which decreases keyword bids by 5 per cent if your click-through rate is less than 2.5 per cent, and another which increases your keyword bid if your cost per conversion is less than £10. Now imagine that one of your keywords has a click-through rate of 2.4 per cent and a cost per conversion of £4. This would match both rules, and both sets of changes would be made, which might not be a desired action in this case.
Make decisions based on a useful amount of dataWhen using automated rules, you want to ensure that you’re gathering enough information before making decisions that impact performance. If five people walked into your shop on Saturday and bought a table and chair set, would you close your homeware business, or stop selling sofas and chairs? Probably not, and the same applies here. Make sure that the rules you are creating provide you with enough information to make an informed decision. Use daily data for daily rules, weekly data for weekly rules and monthly data for monthly rules.
Apply automated rules to subsets of your accountBusinesses with multiple products and services should evaluate the application of automated rules based on the performance of each product or service within their Bing Ads account. Rather than applying one automated rule to your entire account, try applying similar rules with different criteria to subsets of your account instead. This way you are customising rules to different subsets to optimise the performance of each.
PreviewsAutomated rule previews provide a way for you to evaluate the impact of your automated rules before applying these changes to your Bing Ads account. This can help you determine whether the criteria in your automated rule is capturing the right keywords, and whether the rules that you create will have the desired impact.
Automated rules offer advertisers the opportunity to maximise their efficiency by using specific criteria to make changes to their Bing Ads account. These changes can be in a wide variety of ways, but should be used carefully.
When creating automated rules, it’s important to remember:
- rules can be applied to campaigns, ad groups, keywords and ads
- rules should be specific to your business
- create rules with subsets of your account, rather than the entire account
- monitor rules regularly and include minimum and maximum bids to ensure that they have the desired impact
Please note that features mentioned in this training may not be available in your market.